Department of Radiation and Environmental Monitoring

Historical background of the department of radiation and environmental monitoring

In 1990, a scientific department was created in the Polesie State Radiation-Ecological Reserve, consisting of three sectors, which included the sector of radiation-ecological monitoring.

In 1996, in accordance with the protocol of instructions of the President of the Republic of Belarus No. 08/80, a radioecological station was established in the former settlement of Masany to monitor the radiation situation and conduct radioecological studies in the near exclusion zone of the Chernobyl nuclear power plant. Being the closest scientific object to the Chernobyl nuclear power plant on the territory of the Republic of Belarus, it initially makes it a unique testing ground for complex studies of the migration of radionuclides along the components of terrestrial and aquatic ecosystems. By the end of 1996, a reference network was formed at the station, wells were installed to monitor the level of groundwater, a meteorological site was created and instruments were installed on it for conducting surface meteorological observations.

In July 1998, the radioecological station was renamed into the Masana Research Station named after V.N. Fedorov, which became a part of the department of radiation and environmental monitoring, which was subsequently used for comprehensive research, covering the main directions of research programs, as well as contractual work on the problems of the near zone of the Chernobyl accident.

In 2017, the "Masany" research station was included in the State Register of Producers of Hydrometeorological Information.

At present, radiation and environmental monitoring includes monitoring and monitoring the state of the Chernobyl nuclear power plant contaminated with radionuclides, obtaining basic information for assessing and forecasting the overall radioecological situation. The use of radioecological monitoring data makes it possible to identify many patterns of changes in the radiation situation, the existence and development of terrestrial and aquatic ecosystems under conditions of radioactive contamination of the territory and removal of anthropogenic load.

Radiation and environmental monitoring

Radioecological monitoring of the near zone of the Chernobyl NPP contains monitoring and control of the state of the territory contaminated with radionuclides, obtaining basic information for assessing and forecasting the general radioecological situation.

Research directions:
    • Study of weather and climatic conditions and their features to obtain meteorological information on the dynamics of the state of natural objects and their components, timely notification of emergency situations, natural extreme-dangerous phenomena;
    • Analysis of the dynamics and degree of variability of the equivalent dose rate of γ-radiation at the objects of the constant reference network;
    • Study of the processes of accumulation, redistribution and migration of radionuclides (137Cs, 90Sr, 241Am) in the components of terrestrial and aquatic ecosystems;
    • Development of methods for predicting the radiation situation in the near zone of the Chernobyl NPP for a long time.
Research goal:

Monitoring, assessment and forecast of the radiation state of terrestrial and aquatic ecosystems of PSRER in the remote period after the accident at the Chernobyl nuclear power plant.

The main objectives of the study:
    • Analysis of the influence of abiotic and biotic factors on the degree of accumulation of radionuclides (137Cs, 90Sr, 241Am) in various links of terrestrial and aquatic ecosystems;
    • Investigation of the distribution patterns of radionuclides (137Cs, 90Sr, 241Am) between the components of terrestrial and aquatic ecosystems (ground and surface waters, soil-vegetation complex, bottom sediments, hydrobionts);
    • Development of methods for predicting the radiation situation on the territory of PSRER in the remote period after the accident at the Chernobyl nuclear power plant.

The solution of the set tasks is achieved by conducting research at the permanent objects of the radiation-ecological monitoring network, the selection of which is based on the landscape-geographical approach. For their implementation in the near zone of the accident at the Chernobyl nuclear power plant in the former settlement of Masany, a permanent research station was created, which is a structural unit of the department of radiation and environmental monitoring.

The station is located 11 km from the emergency fourth unit of the Chernobyl nuclear power plant and serves as a reference point for conducting scientific research on a wide range of radioecological issues. High levels of radioactive contamination make it possible to study with high accuracy horizontal and vertical migration, the processes of removal and redistribution of radionuclides in various parts of terrestrial and aquatic ecosystems. This makes it possible to carry out reliable monitoring, to build a more accurate forecast of the development of the radiation and radioecological situation for the future.

To assess the impact of weather and climatic conditions on the radiation and environmental situation in the exclusion zone of the Chernobyl nuclear power plant, a complex of hydrometeorological observations is carried out, taking into account the receipt of a comprehensive indicator of forest fires according to weather conditions.

The characteristics of the state and development of physical processes in the atmosphere are determined when it interacts with the underlying surface, measurements of meteorological parameters characterizing these processes are carried out.

Radioecological monitoring of the components of terrestrial ecosystems is carried out at the objects of the permanent reference network.

The dynamic processes of accumulation of radionuclides in various parts of terrestrial ecosystems are analyzed, and trends in the development of the radiation situation are revealed.

On the model reservoirs of the radiation-ecological monitoring network, studies of the regularities of the migration of radionuclides in various parts of aquatic ecosystems are carried out, and methods for predicting the accumulation of radionuclides are being developed.

Head of the Department of Radiation and Environmental Monitoring

Yuri Dmitrievich Marchenko

Е-mail: umd66@yandex.ru

WE OFFER TO VISIT THE BELARUSIAN EXCLUSION ZONE

Отдел радиационно-экологического мониторинга

Историческая справка отдела радиационно-экологического мониторинга

В 1990 году в Полесском государственном радиационно-экологическом заповеднике был создан научный отдел, состоящий из трёх секторов в который входил и сектор радиационно-экологического мониторинга.

В 1996 году в соответствии с протоколом поручений Президента Республики Беларусь №08/80 в бывшем населенном пункте Масаны основан радиоэкологический стационар для мониторинга радиационной обстановки и проведения радиоэкологических исследований в ближней зоне отчуждения ЧАЭС. Являясь ближайшим к Чернобыльской АЭС научным объектом на территории Республики Беларусь, изначально делает его уникальным полигоном для комплексных исследований миграции радионуклидов по компонентам наземных и водных экосистем. К концу 1996 года на стационаре была образована реперная сеть, установлены колодцы для наблюдения за уровнем грунтовых вод, создана метеорологическая площадка и установлены на ней приборы для проведения приземных метеорологических наблюдений.

В июле 1998 года радиоэкологический стационар переименован в «Исследовательскую станцию Масаны имени В.Н. Федорова», которая вошла в состав отдела радиационно-экологического мониторинга в дальнейшем используемая для проведения комплексных исследований, охватывающие основные направления программ по НИР, а также договорные работы по проблемам ближней зоны аварии на ЧАЭС.

В 2017 году исследовательская станция «Масаны» включена в Государственный реестр производителей гидрометеорологической информации.

В настоящее время радиационно-экологический мониторинг включает наблюдение и контроль состояния загрязненной радионуклидами ближней зоны Чернобыльской АЭС, получение базовой информации для оценки и прогноза общей радиоэкологической обстановки. Использование данных радиоэкологического мониторинга позволяет выявлять многие закономерности изменения радиационной обстановки, существования и развития наземных и водных экосистем в условиях радиоактивного загрязнения территории и снятия антропогенной нагрузки.

Радиационно-экологический мониторинг

Радиоэкологический мониторинг ближней зоны Чернобыльской АЭС содержит наблюдение и контроль состояния загрязненной радионуклидами территории, получение базовой информации для оценки и прогноза общей радиоэкологической обстановки.

Направления исследований:
    • Исследование погодно-климатических условий и их особенностей для получения метеорологической информации о динамике состояния природных объектов и их компонентов, своевременного оповещения о чрезвычайных ситуациях, природных экстремально-опасных явлениях;
    • Проведение анализа динамики и степени вариабельности мощности эквивалентной дозы γ-излучения на объектах постоянной реперной сети;
    • Изучение процессов накопления, перераспределения и миграции радионуклидов (137Cs, 90Sr, 241Am) в компонентах наземных и водных экосистем;
    • Разработка методов прогноза радиационной обстановки в ближней зоне Чернобыльской АЭС на отдаленный период.
Цель исследований:

Контроль, оценка и прогноз радиационного состояния наземных и водных экосистем ПГРЭЗ в отдаленный период после аварии на Чернобыльской АЭС.

Основные задачи исследования:
    • Анализ влияния абиотических и биотических факторов на степень накопления радионуклидов (137Cs, 90Sr, 241Am) в различных звеньях наземных и водных экосистем;
    • Исследование закономерностей распределения радионуклидов (137Cs, 90Sr, 241Am) между компонентами наземных и водных экосистем (грунтовые и поверхностные воды, почвенно-растительный комплекс, донные отложения, гидробионты);
    • Разработка методов прогноза радиационной обстановки на территории ПГРЭЗ в отдаленный период после аварии на Чернобыльской АЭС.

Решение поставленных задач достигается путем проведения исследований на постоянных объектах сети радиационно-экологического мониторинга, в основу выбора которых положен ландшафтно-географический подход. Для их выполнения в ближней зоне аварии на Чернобыльской АЭС в бывшем населенном пункте Масаны была создана постоянная исследовательская станция, являющаяся структурным подразделением отдела радиационно-экологического мониторинга.

Станция находится в 11 км от аварийного четвертого блока Чернобыльской АЭС и служит опорной точкой для проведения научных исследований по широкому спектру вопросов радиоэкологической направленности. Высокие уровни радиоактивного загрязнения позволяют с высокой точностью изучать горизонтальную и вертикальную миграцию, процессы выноса и перераспределения радионуклидов в различных звеньях наземных и водных экосистем. Это позволяет проводить достоверный мониторинг, выстроить более точный прогноз развития радиационной и радиоэкологической ситуации на будущее.

Для оценки влияния погодно-климатических условий на радиационно-экологическую обстановку в зоне отчуждения Чернобыльской АЭС выполняется комплекс гидрометеорологических наблюдений, с учетом получения комплексного показателя загораемости лесов по условиям погоды.

Определяются характеристики состояния и развития физических процессов в атмосфере при взаимодействии её с подстилающей поверхностью, осуществляются измерения метеорологических параметров, характеризующих эти процессы.

Радиоэкологический мониторинг компонентов наземных экосистем выполняется на объектах постоянной реперной сети.

Анализируются динамические процессы накопления радионуклидов в различных звеньях наземных экосистем, выявляются тенденции развития радиационной обстановки.

На модельных водоёмах сети радиационно-экологического мониторинга проводятся исследования закономерностей миграции радионуклидов в различных звеньях водных экосистем, и идет разработка методов прогноза накопления радионуклидов.

Заведующий отделом радиационно-экологического мониторинга

Юрий Дмитриевич Марченко

Е-mail: umd66@yandex.ru

Предлагаем посетить белорусскую зону отчуждения